top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShaz • Imagine Rattery

Why are our standards so high?


Our adoption and screening process is thorough for a REASON! We don't let just ANYONE get our rats. We ask questions. We request pictures of cages. We want to know what you feed. Etc. This is all so that we can be sure our rats get the best possible homes. None of this is unreasonable.


Just because they are rats, doesn't mean that their welfare doesn't matter.

If our process is too much effort for you, then we aren't the breeders for you. Please READ our adoption process thoroughly before completing our application. We explained everything in there.

Just because you apply to adopt rats from us DOES NOT entitle you to get the rats.

We DON'T have an obligation to adopt rats to you just because you asked.

We DON'T have to adopt ANY of our rats out if we don't want to.

We care about the animals we breed. And we will NEVER let them go to a home we aren't 100% happy with.



_____________________________________________

The following was written by All Rat Rattery on: 28 June 2020, and perfectly sums up why we are so picky when choosing adopters.


It is with great sadness that we write this post.

Our rats mean the world to us. They are a part of our family, and when we adopt them out we expect our adopters to love and care for them as we would.

Our adoption application is extensive and we do our best to screen everyone intensively. But unfortunately it only takes a few bad apples to ruin the bunch and we are honestly heart broken right now.

As a result. We will no longer be adopting out to just anyone in the public anymore.

Yes, we acknowledge that we have had some incredible adopters and we will always be willing to adopt out to our existing approved adopters. However, when it comes to new adopters we will be making some strict changes to our process.

We have had to blacklist an adopter. Our sister ratteries and URC breeders have been notified. International breeders we work with have also been made aware of this situation.

We want everyone to be made aware that this kind of behavior is unacceptable. We are always willing to take rats back, no questions asked. It's completely unnecessary to lie to us and harm the rats we entrusted in your care.

_____________________________________________


[redacted] – Blacklisted by Kelly Large from All Rat Rattery (URC Breeder in South Africa)

On 6 November 2019, [redacted] adopted 3 rats from my rattery, All Rat Rattery.

On 26 February 2020, I was contacted by [redacted] , who informed me that they were looking at emigrating to Canada. She asked that if they did decide to emigrate, can she return the rats to me as she cannot take them with her, because it is a 28 hour flight. I asked her when she estimates it will happen, and she said definitely this year (2020) as they are currently busy with job searches and interviews. I said that it is no problem at all, and in terms of the ADOPTION CONTRACT I will take them back. I mentioned to her that they need to arrive with their cage, she informed me that her mom wants the cage for her birds. I told her that they need to arrive at me in some sort of cage to be housed in while in my care. I asked her about her dog and other pets, to which she said she is taking her dog with her as she will never leave him, but is rehoming her cats.

On 3 June 2020, I received a message from her, stating that they are in the process of moving, she asked if she could arrange for a family member to bring the rats to me. I said I am only available Saturday mornings, she said she will let me know and I heard nothing further from her.

On 28 June 2020, I noticed a Facebook post by [redacted], showing off her new puppy. I questioned her as to what is going on with the rats, as I haven’t heard from her and that I see she has a new puppy now.

I further noticed on 28 June 2020, that the cage the rats were housed in was posted for sale 6 days prior.

She informed me that the puppy arrived with them overseas yesterday 27 June 2020, (a puppy from a South African breeder, who has never shipped dogs in their entire existence, as confirmed by another South African dog breeder). She told me that the rats are now with her mother in law and that she has a different cage for the rats. (I don't know how she was able to move over the past few months due to COVID restrictions. Let alone send a dog and a puppy across.)

Naturally this was not adding up in my head, and I asked her to get her mother in law to contact me, if she is the new owner of the rats. I also informed her that she should have pre-approved this with me. She later responded, stating she has just phoned her mother in law and that her mother in law has informed her that all 3 rats have died. (3 health rats just mysteriously died in the past month with no explanation). The mother in law allegedly said she didn't want to say that the rats had passed away because it might upset [redacted].

These rats were all born in September 2019, they were all under a year old. I called her out for lying to me and she insisted she was no longer in RSA and that she did not know this was going to happen.

I was subsequently blocked on What’s App and Facebook.

_____________________________________________


Our hearts are broken and we feel like we failed our rats 💔

We will never know what truly happened to them.

But we will do everything in our power to make sure this never happens again.

_____________________________________________

Link to the original post here:

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page